Classroom Blogs

 

Looking at classroom blogs, was very interesting.  It was great to view and read through blogs from classrooms around the world.  It has given me inspiration for what to include in my classroom when  become a teacher.  I really want to see what can be done for younger students.

The first blog I looked at was http://4kmand4kj.global2.vic.edu.au/.  This is by fourth graders from Leopold Primary School in Australia.  In the “about us” section there is a section that features four different areas, the classroom mascot, the class, the teachers, and a page about the school.   Each of the children have links to their own blogs on the blog site, it looks like each child is a category.  Then on the the main page of the blog there are blog posts from the class as a whole.  It was fun to see children from all over the world making comments on the blogs from the class.

One aspect of the website I found to be great for everyone, but especially children is the internet safety section.  It is important for children to be informed, and reminded of how to stay safe when using the internet.    The  safety section has a great tips for anyone who is thinking of starting a blog for their classroom.  Here is a link to the section of the blog I am referring to;   http://4kmand4kj.global2.vic.edu.au/guidelinessafety/blog-guidelines/.    I think it is great that the teachers read the blogs and approve them before they are sent out on the internet.  The blog site really takes the safety of children into consideration, and I think that is great.

 

The “Flat Rosie” blog was the next blog I looked at, and out of all of the blogs I have seen so far it is my favorite!  The concept is cute and I think it would be an excellent learning opportunity for students of any age.  It would be a great way to expose younger children to other cultures, while giving them an opportunity to work on their writing skills.  I guess I should back up a little bit and explain what exactly the blog is about.  The blogging seems to have stopped in December 2012 when the school year ended, and the only information I could see on the blog was the main page.  After Goggling, I realized how popular Flat Rosie is, she certainly has traveled all around the world.  The Flat Rosie Blog is certainly a well established blog, with a positive reputation.

Flat Rosie started at a school in Australia, and she has been mailed all across the world to places such as Lebanon, Denmark, Canada, China, California, South Africa and more.  I think this is an amazing idea.  I think Flat Rosie is sent from an all girls school, and I am not sure how old the students are.  It seems that each student in the class has made their own paper cut out of a Flat Rosie Doll, the students then colored the dolls and sent them to various corners of the earth.  The students or “Rosie” blogged about the experiences.  Whomever ended up receiving Rosie would comment on the blog, or make a post.  There are videos, letters, pictures and more that show Rosie’s adventures.    Students also have the ability to ask Flat Rosie questions about her life, her journey, the place she lives, or anything that is part of her life.  I think this is an excellent way for students to learn about other cultures.  The only downside to this blog is that it has ended.  I hope that there are more adventures of Flat Rosie, I would love to follow her around the world, and read all about her adventures.

 

Year 2S was the third blog I visited.  It is a blog by 23 6-7 year old girls at a school in

There were different blog posts, one of the ones I really enjoyed was the Pirate Day post.  All of the students dressed as pirates and there were pirate themed activities and lessons.  This seemed to have sparked an interest from other students who had many questions and comments about pirate day.  This provided a great opportunity for students to interact with each other.  It seems that it was also a good opportunity for other teachers to gauge the reactions of their students to see if Pirate day or a similar themed day would be a good idea to incorporate into a lesson in their classroom.  Here is a link to the Pirate Day blog from Year 2S; http://year2rc.edublogs.org/2013/03/22/pirate-day/comment-page-1/#comment-358

The main page of the blog features blogs from their “friends” from around the world, classroom blogs from other classes in their school, and activities they have participated in throughout the school year.  The class seems to have a lot of wonderful educational opportunities, the students/author of the blog seem to be very excited about what they are learning.  This could be a good way to help students become self motivated learners.  I would think that students would be excited to hear about the interesting activities and learning adventures other students are learning about.  Then as a result, they would come to school begging their teacher to do something similar.  Here is a link to the main page of the blog; http://year2rc.edublogs.org/.

 

I have to admit after reading the teacher blogs, I was not very excited about the whole blogging process.  After reading through the classroom blogs I have changed my view on blogs.  I want to read as many classroom blogs as I can.  I am fascinated as to how many blogs there are, as well as the level of the posts.  This has really been an eye opener for me, I realized how much of an impact blogs on students, and exposing students to other cultures.

Leave a Reply

